Digi Domi

Sharing my passion for technology and learning.

Terms of Service; Didn’t Read

on October 24, 2013

At the E-Assessment Scotland TeachMeet I gave a short presentation on T&Cs for social media and posed the question; whose responsibility is it to check these when using a site in an educational context?

After this I started to think how nice it would be if someone could go through all the popular social web services and break down the Ts&Cs, maybe even given them ratings, to make it easier to digest. Although this was a brilliant idea, and those I discussed it with agreed, it was clear it would be a lot of work and so I logged it in the nice idea but not realistic section of my brain. Well, today I find out that someone else has had the same idea, and the resources/ will power to make it a reality!

Terms of Service; Didn’t Read does exactly what I had imaged a good site would, it gives you a rating system from A – E and pulls out the good and bad aspects of Tc&Cs such as; whether you own copyright, can you delete your account, are their Ts&Cs likely to change. Not only this but there is also a web-browser plugin so you can get the information when you need it, without having to open up another tab/ window!

I’ve only had time to look at this fairly briefly but so far I am very impressed. The only downside seems to be that I can’t take credit for it in any way!

Here is how it works through the plugin:

tosdnr_soundcloud

Leave a Reply

