Digi Domi

Sharing my passion for technology and learning.

Son, respect my privacy!

on December 18, 2014

I was watching a BuzzFeed video where they got people to read their old Facebook statuses, as you can imagine it’s pretty funny and embarrassing, sometimes they have no idea why the wrote posts but there they are, available for always. You can watch it on YouTube:

At the end of the video one of the people makes an interesting comment. She says that one day all of this will be available for her kids to just scroll through, then she comes up with a plan ‘no, I won;t friend them’. At the moment there is the classic battle of children/ young people being frustrated and embarrassed by their parents trying to friend them on Facebook, because they want to protect their privacy and maybe keep certain things from their parents. This ladies comment made me think, will my generation (I’m currently 25) be trying to stop our kids from friending us, to protect out historic privacy? Could future dinner conversation be about ‘mum, why haven;t you accepted my friend request? Aren’t we friends’ ‘No darling, we are friends but I think it’s best to protect your privacy’ ‘it’s fine mum, I’m web-smart and wouldn’t post anything online I wouldn’t want the world to see’

Yeah well, mummy’s generation hadn’t quite learnt that but I’m not sure I’ll want to share that with my kids. I don;lt want to say ‘we can;t be friends because i might have some embarrassing posts from when I was younger’. If they are anything like me that will spark their curiosity and they’ll have found the stuff 15 minutes later with or without a friend request.

Perhaps we will have to be more open about our past with our children. After all, I was always taught honesty is the best policy.

Leave a Reply

