Digi Domi

Sharing my passion for technology and learning.

Learning Technologist or learning technologies?

on March 8, 2016

My husband has a little joke he likes to make when I don’t instantly pick up a new technology or know how to operate a new piece of AV equipment in our home. He likes to ask me, if I’m really a ‘Learning Technologist or am I just learning technology?’. This obviously then leads to him chuckling to himself and often to me rolling my eyes or getting defensive, depending on what mood I’m in.

Sometimes however it does give me cause for pause. What is my role as a Learning Technologist? Am I expected to be a person who instantly knows how to use any technology placed in front of me? Is it okay that this isn’t always the case?

Although it might be possible for some to just get running with new technology, this isn’t always how I operate. However, what I would say makes me a good Learning Technologist is that I am willing to play around with new technology, and to quickly get to grips with most of it. Although I may not always instantly know how to work a new online service or piece of AV equipment I have honed and refined my ability to figure it out, paired with an almost instinctive understand of how different tools work. In the modern world I feel the superior skill is not the retention of knowledge, which may soon become obsolete, but the ability to find and filter new knowledge as it is required. This is something I am very good at, and if I don’t know the answer I can always quickly find it and pass it on to whomever is asking.

What do you think, is there a time limit in which a Learning Technologist should be able to figure out how to use a new piece of technology (software or hardware) when it is put in front of them? Is that time limit, seconds, minutes or hours? Let me know in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

